Completed Proposal Save Copy of Project

From Audacity Wiki
Revision as of 11:17, 26 January 2019 by PeterSampson (talk | contribs) (PeterSampson moved page Proposal Save Copy of Project to Completed Proposal Save Copy of Project)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search
Proposal pages help us get from feature requests into actual plans. This page is a proposal to save a backup copy of a project while leaving the current project open
Proposal pages are used on an ongoing basis by the Audacity development team and are open to edits from visitors to the wiki. They are a good way to get community feedback on a proposal.


  • Note: Proposals for Google Summer of Code projects are significantly different in structure, are submitted via Google's web app and may or may not have a corresponding proposal page.


The Problem

The existing command for saving a copy of a project (something we recommend a lot) saves the project but abandons the current project and leaves the safety copy project as the current live project, The user who wishes to return to the original project is then forced to close the copy project and re-open the original project.

Worse still, any changes made to the original project since the last Save that the user made will not be saved to the original project, only to the (safety) copy.

Proposed Feature

Another good idea that has been requested by users, is a new command: "File > Save Copy of Project as..."

This differs from File > Save As... in that it does not change the name of the open project. For a project that already exists on disk, a subsequent File > Save will update the original project, not the copy, leaving the copy as a staged safety copy.

See this Forum thread

Developer/QA Backing

  • Peter
  • Steve

Use Cases

  • User comment from the Forum:
    • "When I am working with a file in Audacity, I choose the option "Save Project As" as a file I want to save premastering as a backup in a file that I use to backup chapters before mastering. Correct me if I am wrong, but I would have to close out the screen, and go back to the original file I was working with to continue on to leave the backup file in the new file location as it is, with no further changes. If I use the "Save Project As" it would rename the file I have as the backup one, and if I did anymore edits on the file that was opened and "Saved As" it would make changes to my backup."
  • Saving a safety copy after making a recording:
    1. Open Audacity
    2. Save Project to "My Project"
    3. Make recording
    4. "Save Project as" "My Project - recording safety copy"
    5. User may fail to notice that the safety copy has now effectively become the current projecy
    6. User may fail to realize that "My Project" is now an empty project with no recording in it.

Details

  • Intreoduce a new command into the File menu: File > Save Copy of Project as..
    • File > Save Copy of Project as... could either replace File > Save Project as..., or be additional to it
    • File > Save Copy of Project as... could also suggest a reasonable name for the new copy, such as "original-name-copy-001" etc.
  • Optionally: File > Save Project as... could be replace by File > Rename Project...


GUI Examples

The open source graphics application "Gimp" does this, and it's very useful (says Steve):

Gimp -Save a Copy.png

Previous Feature Requests relating to this proposal

None until this recent Forum thread emerged.