Difference between revisions of "Top Usability Issues"

From Audacity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(Save and export confusion: I tend to favour retaining the Export command)
(user comments are only for the listed issues)
 
(3 intermediate revisions by 2 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
{{Intro|This page is for listing issues of usability, mostly those found during writing documentation, where changes in Audacity code would make documenting the behaviour SIGNIFICANTLY easier|2=}}
+
{{Template:Audacity Devel}}
  
 +
{{Intro|This page is for listing of usability matters with the software that impact on many users. Typically, these will be "issues" rather than "bugs", with no explicit item yet on [[Release Checklist]]. Or they could be existing disparate bugs where a holistic approach to fixing them could be beneficial.|Comments on issues listed here are welcome, on [[Talk:Top Usability Issues]] if the issue still lacks a Proposal page, otherwise on the discussion tab of the linked Proposal page. To report all other bugs or issues, see [[Reporting Bugs]].}}
 +
 +
 +
{{advice|Detailed discussions of issues should generally be moved to proposal pages with a link from here.  In motivating a usability issue, linking to the manual to indicate how a usability issue is currently explained for users can help motivate the call for a change.}}
 +
<br><br>
  
 
__TOC__
 
__TOC__
Line 8: Line 13:
  
 
== Copy-in versus aliasfiles for uncompressed audio ==
 
== Copy-in versus aliasfiles for uncompressed audio ==
{{advice|Use of audio by reference (faster) vs copy audio into project (safer) is confusing, and can lead users to lose projects, e.g. by deleting audio they think they no longer need.  There's possibly going to be a proposal page about changes in this.}}
+
{{advice|Use of audio by reference (faster) vs copy audio into project (safer) is confusing, and can lead users to lose projects, e.g. by deleting audio they think they no longer need.}}
*'''BillW 20Jan10:''' IMO changing the default in [http://manual.audacityteam.org/index.php?title=Import_/_Export_Preferences Import / Export Preferences] to "Make a copy of uncompressed audio files before editing (safer)" would go a long way towards shielding new users from this problem. We could then possibly dispense with "Rule #3" in [http://manual.audacityteam.org/index.php?title=Quick_Guide Audacity for the Impatient] (or wherever the "3 rules" are eventually placed).
+
*'''James 22Jan10:''' See the new [[Proposal_User-safe_Aliasfiles|proposal page]] and related talk page.
**New users are presumably downloading Audacity for the first time, and many are complete novices. Rule #3 may be incomprehensible to them.
 
**Seasoned users who prefer this option will have it set in their preferences which will be retained when they upgrade to a new version.
 
**Performing an effect on an entire imported track (such as Amplify or Normalize) completely negates the disk space saving nature of the "read directly" preference as Audacity must save (internally) the changed version of the track. It seems to me that if the "Normalize all tracks in project" preference is checked then this will happen automatically.
 
**Surely Audacity could check if referenced aliasfiles are available and warn the user rather than blithely playing silence while simultaneously displaying a waveform? This check could be done on opening a project and a comprehensive error message displayed.
 
**Perhaps a warning when importing using "read directly"? This could be turned off in the warning dialog or in Warnings Preferences.
 
**Is there better wording/description to "read directly"? This confused me initially. What's the opposite? Read INdirectly?
 
 
 
  
 
== Save and export confusion ==  
 
== Save and export confusion ==  
 
{{advice|Some users don't realise that export is needed to save audio in non .aup formats.}}
 
{{advice|Some users don't realise that export is needed to save audio in non .aup formats.}}
*'''BillW 20Jan10:''' I think this is user error and RTFM. In Warnings Preferences by default this preference is checked: "Saving projects: Every time you save a project, Audacity will warn you that you are saving an Audacity project file that only Audacity can open. Once you understand this, you can turn off this warning from within the warning dialog." If users choose to click through that warning without reading or understanding it, what more can we do?
 
**I am '''not''' (at this time) in favour of a "Save Special" to replace the export menu items. I think this would just further confuse the issue. Export is technically correct - files are being created for use outside of Audacity. Other multi-track software might call this "Bounce to Disk" or "Mix to Disk". "Save" is reserved for saving the multi-track project.
 
 
* '''Gale 21Jan10:''' See [[Proposal Menu Reorganisation]] for details and make further detailed comments about a re-organisation solution there.
 
* '''Gale 21Jan10:''' See [[Proposal Menu Reorganisation]] for details and make further detailed comments about a re-organisation solution there.
* '''Peter 21Jan10:'''  I tend to favour retaining the '''Export command'''.  Many software packages use '''Save''' when storing data in their internal format - and '''Export''' when creating the non-native formats that are intended for use elsewhere - the current structure has a syntactic purity.
+
 
 +
 
  
 
[[Category:For Developers]]
 
[[Category:For Developers]]

Latest revision as of 11:27, 23 January 2010


This page is for listing of usability matters with the software that impact on many users. Typically, these will be "issues" rather than "bugs", with no explicit item yet on Release Checklist. Or they could be existing disparate bugs where a holistic approach to fixing them could be beneficial.
Comments on issues listed here are welcome, on Talk:Top Usability Issues if the issue still lacks a Proposal page, otherwise on the discussion tab of the linked Proposal page. To report all other bugs or issues, see Reporting Bugs.


Warning icon Detailed discussions of issues should generally be moved to proposal pages with a link from here. In motivating a usability issue, linking to the manual to indicate how a usability issue is currently explained for users can help motivate the call for a change.



Edit Hint: Links to the pages in the manual wiki which show why explaining is tricky could help.


Copy-in versus aliasfiles for uncompressed audio

Warning icon Use of audio by reference (faster) vs copy audio into project (safer) is confusing, and can lead users to lose projects, e.g. by deleting audio they think they no longer need.

Save and export confusion

Warning icon Some users don't realise that export is needed to save audio in non .aup formats.